US penalises citizens of three Eastern Caribbean countries

The US Embassy in Bridgetown, Barbados

By Melanius Alphonse
Caribbean News Now associate editor

CASTRIES, St Lucia — The recent refusal by the US government to extend the convenience of an interview waiver for visa renewals to three Eastern Caribbean countries: Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica and St Vincent and the Grenadines, is widely perceived as retribution for the representatives of those countries declining to support a failed US-sponsored, anti-Venezuela resolution at the Organisation of American States (OAS) earlier this year.

This perception has been reinforced by the recent publication of an op-ed by Linda Taglialatela, the US ambassador to Barbados, the Eastern Caribbean, and the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States, which singled…

Read More

  • 1