Two non-Caribbean nationals serving on CCJ bench

Two non-Caribbean nationals are among the six judges serving on the Bench of the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ), following the retirement of St. Kitts national, Sir Michael Dennis Byron as CCJ President in July.

They are Justices Jacob Wit from The Netherlands and David Hayton from the United Kingdom, both of whom specialise in particular areas of Law.

According to the CCJ website, the non-Caribbean nationals are two of the longest serving judges on the CCJ Bench, having been with the court since June 2005, approximately two months after its inauguration in April that year.

The other justices include – CCJ President, Vincentian Adrian Saunders, who has also been with the court since 2005, along with Justice Winston Charles Anderson from Jamaica (2010 – present), Madame Justice…

Read More