TERM LIMIT STAYS • Caribbean Life

Share on TwitterTweet
Share on Facebook


From August 1999 to late November 2011, Bharrat Jagdeo ran Guyana as president, accounting for the largest single chunk of the presidency among those who headed the then governing People’s Progressive Party (PPP) during its 23 years in power that ended with defeat in 2015.

Banned from running again by a constitutional two-term presidential limit that he had ironically helped to sign into law, the move came back to haunt him in a big way this week when Jagdeo and the main opposition PPP lost a bid to have that provision on Guyanese law books scrubbed out as unconstitutional.

Six of the seven judges at the Trinidad-based umbrella Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) voted to uphold the two term limit for Guyanese presidents…

Read More

*** This news item is 3rd party content and is included strictly for non-commercial informational purposes.

  • 1