South African clubs in Super Rugby spotlight in 13th round

WELLINGTON, New Zealand — The form of South African teams will be a focus of the 13th round of Super Rugby as their future in the tournament remains uncertain.

Organizing body SANZAAR dismissed a British report this week that the four South African teams — the Lions, Bulls, Sharks and Stormers — will quit Super Rugby to join Europe’s PRO14 tournament when current participation agreements end in 2019.

While one team boss, the Sharks Gary Teichmann, supported the SANZAAR position and said no talks had taken place with PRO14 organizers, another — the Lions Kevin de Klerk — said financial considerations would influence any future South African decisions.

South African teams would likely earn more through broadcast rights by playing in Europe than in the mainly southern hemisphere…

Read More

*** This news item is 3rd party content and is included strictly for non-commercial informational purposes.