REVEALED: Ten African countries that did not vote for Morocco | Soccer

South Africa is among the ten African nations that refused to vote for Morocco to host 2026 World Cup.

Others are Guinea, Liberia, Benin, Sierra Leone, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique and Namibia. The 2026 tournament will be held in United States, Canada and Mexico after their joint bid beat that of Morocco on Wednesday.

Morocco was counting on the strong support of African countries but it seems the ten nations defied the continental solidarity and voted otherwise. The North American bid earned a total of 134 votes, while Morocco garnered 65.

It marks the first time the World Cup will be held in more than one country since 2002, when South Korea and Japan shared hosting duties.

Three countries have never shared the duties before. The US, however, hosted…

Read More

*** This news item is 3rd party content and is included strictly for non-commercial informational purposes.