Parly ratify agreement establishing African Continental Free Trade Area – The Citizen

Parliament today ratified the agreement establishing the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA).

The AfCFTA was launched during an extra-ordinary summit of African Union (AU) heads of state in March 2018 in Kigali, Rwanda. South Africa signed the agreement in July 2018 in Nouakchott, Mauritania.

Thus far, 49 countries have signed the Agreement and Kenya, Ghana, Rwanda, Eswatini, Chad, Niger, Sierra Leone, Uganda and Guinea Conakry have deposited their instruments of ratification.

Trade and Industry Minister Rob Davies said the country was expected to deposit the instrument of ratification during the 32nd Ordinary Session of the Assembly of the AU in February 2019. The agreement will enter into force once twenty-two member states have deposited their instruments of…

Read More