North African countries yet to ratify free trade deal: AU

The African Union has challenged countries from North Africa to ratify the Africa Continental Free Trade Area agreement (AfCFTA), which is short of 4 ratifications to be operationalised.

The spokesperson in the office of the AUC chairperson, Ebba Kalondo tweeted her optimism ‘to have a North African country among the historic 22 ratifications that will effectively bring the AfCFTA into force’.

The African Union has made progress since July last year, when only Rwanda, Kenya, Chad, Niger, eSwatini (Swaziland) and Ghana had ratified the agreement that would create the largest trade zone in the world.

Kalondo and the Albert Muchanga, the Commissioner for Trade and Industry at AUC have been tweeting updates on several countries as…

Read More