Momentum builds towards an African Continental Free Trade Area

Will the African Union get the 22 ratifications needed to make the free trade area a reality? PSC Report for ISS TODAY

First published by ISS Today

Five more countries recently signed up to join the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) – one of the African Union’s (AU) biggest continental agreements to date. There is also steady progress on ratifications. But can the momentum be sustained? And which country will ultimately host the new free trade area?

At the mid-year AU summit in Mauritania, five countries – Burundi, Lesotho, Namibia, Sierra Leone and South Africa – signed the agreement,…

Read More

  • 1