Concept Note Africa Union Day Celebrations African Union Headquarters 15 September 2018 Addis, Ababa, Ethiopia


Introduction and Context

On 9th July 2002, 43 African leaders gathered in Durban, South Africa to launch the African Union (AU), a successor to the Organization of African Unity (OAU) created by the Sirte Declaration on 9.September 1999. The objective of the African Union is to unify the fifty-five (55) Member States and accelerate the process of continental integration to enable Africa play its rightful role in the global economy while addressing multifaceted social, economic and political problems within the continent. Since 2002, the African Union (AU) has witnessed substantial progress in various spheres of life and sectors.

Some of the flagship projects enshrined in the Continent’s blueprint which is Agenda 2063 have witnessed remarkable success as evidenced by the launch…

Read More