Caribbean Nations Are Seriously Thinking About Marijuana Decriminalization

This week, a number of Caribbean nations will gather to discuss, among other things, the decriminalization of cannabis.

Leaders of 15 Caribbean nations, together known as the Caribbean Community (CARICOM), are meeting in Jamaica between July 4th – 6th for their 39th meeting of the Conference of Heads of Government of the Caribbean Community.

The 15 member nations of CARICOM are Barbados, Belize, Dominica, The Bahamas, Guyana, Grenada, Haiti, Saint Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Antigua, and Barbuda, Jamaica, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Suriname, and Trinidad and Tobago. This conference aims to help establish and guide the policies of CARICOM member nations.

In a public statement to the media on Monday, Irwin LaRocque, the Caricom Secretary General Ambassador, claimed that the…

Read More

*** This news item is 3rd party content and is included strictly for non-commercial informational purposes.

  • 1