African MPs approve rotational leadership

Leadership positions at the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, Africa, will be held by subregions on a rotational basis.

Members on Sunday passed amendments that will ensure each subregion gets a chance to lead. The changes took effect immediately. Those to be elected today at the 49th CPA conference in Gaborone, Botswana, will serve for three years before surrendering to another subregion.

The CPA Africa has four subregions β€” the Southern region, East Africa, West Africa and Central Africa.

Kenya National Assembly speaker Justin Muturi praised the amendment and said it cures monopolisation of the positions by some regions.

β€œThe main objective of the motion was to ensure there is equity and balance in the distribution of the offices of the association among the subregions,” he told…

Read More

  • 1