African countries sign free trade agreements

By Quinlyn Manfull
Staff Writer

On March 21, 2018 at a summit in Kigali, Rwanda, 44 of the 55 African Union (AU) member states signed an agreement that will set up a free trade area through the continent of Africa. With the intent of improving regional integration, boosting economic growth across the continent and increasing intra-African trade, the deal will create the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA).

This summit was part of Agenda 2063 — a strategic framework for the socioeconomic development and integration of the African continent which builds on, and seeks to accelerate the implementation of past and existing continental initiatives for growth and sustainable development. 27 member states have also already signed a commitment for the free movement of…

Read More

*** This news item is 3rd party content and is included strictly for non-commercial informational purposes.