African Continental Free Trade Area: Towards the finalization of modalities on goods – Toolkit

African Union member States have agreed to remove 90 per cent of their tariffs on goods over a period of between 5 and 15 years, depending on whether a country is classified as developing or least developed, with special and differentiated treatment for the group of seven countries, which are, as mentioned previously, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Madagascar, Malawi, the Sudan, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

It has not yet been determined, however, whether the 90 per cent of tariffs (also referred to as non-sensitive) that is to be completely liberalized relates to the percentage of total product lines or to the share in the country’s total value of imported products.

Moreover, there are uncertainties regarding how the remaining 10 per cent of tariffs will be…

Read More

*** This news item is 3rd party content and is included strictly for non-commercial informational purposes.